Back to top

Sydney Peace Prize 2004

Last week Arundhati Roy was awarded the Sydney Peace Prize for 2004. Previous recipients have been Professor Muhammad Yunus (1998), Archbishop Desmond Tutu (1999), Xanana Gusmao (2000), Sir William Deane (2001), Mary Robinson (2002) and Dr Hanan Ashrawi (2003).

The Sydney Morning Herald carries a full transcript of her acceptance speech, delivered at the Seymour Centre, University of Sydney, on November 3. The speech was also broadcast on ABC Radio National's Big Ideas the following Sunday and Tuesday. Here is the audio of that program.

There is more information on the Sydney Peace Prize at the Sydney Peace Foundation website, which is hosted by the Faculty of Arts at Sydney University. Here is the SPF's citation for Roy's award.