You are here

And The Kepler-Wessels goes to...

Submitted by rickeyre on March 28, 2009 - 3:06pm

Mitchell Johnson. A devastating display with the bat in a losing cause was enough to have him breezing past Dale Steyn to break the ribbon first at the end of the six-Test reciprocal series between Australia and South Africa, conducted over the past three months.

Daily points during the Newlands Test (as first announced on Twitter) were:
Day One: Dale Steyn 3, Paul Harris 2, Makhaya Ntini 1;
Day Two: Ashwell Prince 3, Jacques Kallis 2, Hashim Amla 1;
Day Three: AB de Villiers 3, Mitchell Johnson 2, Simon Katich 1;
Day Four: Mitchell Johnson 3, Paul Harris 2, Andrew McDonald 1.

Final Standings:
19 pts - Mitchell Johnson;
17 pts - Dale Steyn;
13 pts - Peter Siddle;
12 pts - AB de Villiers, Simon Katich, Ricky Ponting;
10 pts - Jacques Kallis;
9 pts - Michael Clarke, Paul Harris;
8 pts - Jean-Paul Duminy, Phillip Hughes;
7 pts - Graeme Smith;
6 pts - Brad Haddin, Makhaya Ntini;
5 pts - Hashim Amla;
4 pts - Mark Boucher;
3 pts - Marcus North, Ashwell Prince;
2 pts - Michael Hussey, Andrew McDonald;
1 pt - Ben Hilfenhaus, Jason Krejza, Neil NcKenzie, Morne Morkel.

Thanks for coming - Doug Bollinger, Nathan Hauritz, Matthew Hayden, Imraan Khan, Brett Lee, Bryce McGain, Albie Morkel, Andrew Symonds.

Background to The Kepler-Wessels can be seen here. See you in July, when we do it all again for the Midwinter-Midwinter.